jump to navigation

the gods aren’t angry November 30, 2007

Posted by G in random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

dumb cell phone pic...Tuesday night Jackie & I trekked down to Sommerville to see Rob Bell live. He started out talking about cave people and how they came to see the different elements that keep them alive and how they created these gods that they needed to appease.  They were always trying to make them happy, always needing to give them more so that their made up gods would not become angry.  He then went into the story of Abraham and how when he was asked to sacrifice Isaac he didn’t ask questions because it was a cultural thing to sacrifice children… to give your ultimate offering.  He mentioned how people usually talk about the story as being about Abraham’s faith and if we look at the culture, the story is more about how God provides.  How He provides the offering because He wanted to bless Abraham, and when we give an offering to God… it’s for us to recognize what He has already done for us. Repentence is a way for us to remember what God has already done, He has already forgiven us. 

Through a lot of the evening I kept thinking that I already know this stuff… but enjoyed listening to what he had to say.  I loved the stories that he told.  I loved the heart that he told them from.  When he talked about any ritual that we do, if we do it from a heart of I need to do this to please God (or man)… it is in NO way a Christian ritual, but we need to do things from a heart of I am doing this because I love God and I want to bless Him because He has chosen to bless me.  In the end it was pretty much a 2-hour Nooma.  I am amazed at how much information he has in his brain… he gave a full explaination of man made gods with their names and why they were created, and why most of them are just contradictory and don’t make sense.  He cracked himself up a lot, which made me laugh.  And just like lots of noomas… in the end I was in tears.  One of the main points that I took away is that we need to be a living sacrifice… not just think that we should… we need to live a life blessing others because God has chosen to bless us.

May you come to know that the gods are not angry…

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.”
~Romans 12:1

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

