jump to navigation

New Beginnings… November 5, 2007

Posted by G in from the heart, mindless ramblings, youth min.
Tags:
trackback

I’ve been feeling pretty emotional lately, I haven’t been sure why…  I think I am beginning to understand.

I started a new book goup recently on “The Secret Message of Jesus” by Brian McLaren.  I am really excited for opportunities like this where many people get together to discuss their hearts & opinions.  We’ve only been through the intro & first chapter so I am not sure where it’s heading.  It appears to me that it may be a case of “What if we really lived as Jesus did and as the bible says?”  I am hoping that is the particular direction.  I have really discovered in the past couple of years that my desire is to live that way, but I seem to get stuck in the comfort of my ways, even though my ways are not always so comfortable. 

One thing McLaren states is “What if Jesus’ secret message reveals a secret plan? What if he didn’t come to start a new religion-but rather came to start a political, social, religious, artistic, economic, intellectual and spiritual revolution that would give birth to a new world?  What if his secret message had practical implications for such issues as how you live your daily life, how you earn and spend money, how you treat people of other races and religions and how the nations of the world would conduct their foriegn policy?  What if his message directly or indirectly addressed issues like advertising, parenting, the quest for happiness and peace and racial reconciliation?”  My heart says that this is part of Jesus’ message.  He didn’t come to start a new religion of rules and regulations… He came to teach a message of love and grace… a desire for relationship with Himself and one another…

After the group left I stayed and talked with Jesse & Lisa… & then just Lisa for a while.  We were talking about youth ministry and how God has brought us together with different backgrounds and gifts to be able to relate to kid’s lives.  I mentioned a time when a parent called and asked for Mike.  I let her know that he was not available and if it was something that she could speak with me about.  She mentioned issues that she was having with her daughter and that she would like for someone to meet with the two of them to talk.  I arranged a time for the four of us to meet. After the meeting I asked Mike if he thought the meeting went well and he stated that he never would’ve known the questions to ask in that situation.  After that Lisa mentioned that she has always wanted to ask me about my story.  Truth be told, my story is not something that I like to share, but I decided that I would break down some walls and tell her. 

The abridged version took about 50 minutes.  I told her some things that I can say I have never said out loud and it felt a bit freeing.  I also realized that the emotion that I have been feeling lately is the joy, uncertainty of the unknown and desire to learn that I had when I first came to know what true relationship with God was all about.  He has pursued me throughout my life and has always been straight up with me.  Although I sometimes may feel inadequate, used, not good enough, like no one will love me… He says that I am, He does and He has only the best desires for me.   

“I’m giving you my heart, and all that is within, I lay it all down for the sake of you my King. I’m giving you my dreams, I’m laying down my rights. I’m giving up my pride for the promise of new life. And I surrender all to you, all to you.
I’m singing You this song, I’m waiting at the cross and all the world holds dear, I count it all as loss. For the sake of knowing You for the glory of Your name. To know the lasting joy, even sharing in Your pain. And I surrender all to you, all to you.”
~Marc James

Comments»

1. LeAnne - November 6, 2007

Love ya, my friend!

2. Antje - November 8, 2007

Hi G,

I forgot to tell you about that last night. I read another critic about this book a few weeks ago on another blog. He recommended it as well and I will read it in German -hopefully soon. If you like to check it out:
http://toby-faix.blogspot.com/2007/10/jesus-drei-perspektiven-drei-bcher-teil.html

Have a really nice day!

Big hug,
A

3. G - November 8, 2007

Hey Ant!
I like what he quoted about being more relational & not in your face… That’s what drew me to understand…

Also, werden se die deutsche version kaufen?

Love ~G


Leave a Reply

