jump to navigation

“For Your love is more delightful than wine” ~Song of Solomon 1:2 March 13, 2007

Posted by G in from the heart, truth.
trackback

“Now God designed the human machine to run on Himself. He Himself is the fuel our spirits were designed to burn, or the food our spirits were designed to feed on. There is no other. That is why it is just no good asking God to make us happy in our own way without bothering about religion. God cannot give us a happiness and peace apart from Himself, because it is not there. There is no such thing.” ~ CS Lewis

I have been on this roller coaster ride… continuing to desire to get more into the Word, to spend more quality time focusing on God, but then life sets in and I find myself back in the “I need to get back into it” phase.  And when I get into that phase, I again begin to beat myself up.  And it’s not because I am not in the Word… I have my Tuesday night Bible study… which I LOVE and enjoy spending the time with those in the group and there’s youth group.  I am reading and praying, but I beat myself up because sometimes my heart isn’t always right there in it.  I want to desire waking up in the morning and reading my Bible… going to sleep at night after reading a book and having some quite time.  But life gets in the way…

This quote from “Mere Christianity” drives home why we were created and what our focus in life needs to be… why is it that we expect God to fulfill our desires when we are not truly focusing on Him to discover His Will??  I am the first to complain (not that it’s my right) that my life is not how I have pictured it to be… and I continually wonder and pray why God doesn’t fill my desires and if my desires are not God’s Will for my life, that He would change my desires to mirror His… this has been a prayer for quite a few years now… so I continually pray and try to discover the balance between our desires and God’s Will… and remind myself that it is all in His timing, although it can be painful. I need to rest in Him… not beat myself up when I don’t live up to the standards that I have set and continue to set my eyes upon Him… moment by moment…

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.”
~Psalm 62:5

“But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.”
~Psalm 1:2

“Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.”
~Psalm 37:4

“Direct me in the path of your commands, for there I find delight.” 
~Psalm 119:35

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

