jump to navigation

Yod – Hey – Vav – Hey December 28, 2006

Posted by G in from the heart, mindless ramblings.
Tags:
trackback

…just breathe… 

I am finding that I am feeling “stuck” at the point of needing and wanting to rid the “little sins”… so we like to pretend that there is a difference…  (not taking a complete stand on my health, inadequacy, selfishness, jealousy, deception… need I go on??  I can…) and it also blows my mind that we consider them lesser sins when they are mentioned over and over as deeds of darkness… sins that lead to death… and then I realize that I get “stuck” in the grace factor and the thinking that I can just deal with it all later… instead of going full force into obedience… so again, I find that I am going to forge ahead one step at a time and discover where He leads me… and if it’s really not such a big thing… why would He clearly put in on my heart time and time again??

So… I received the latest nooma for Christmas… it’s my new all time favorite… I don’t know how they are going to top this one… anyway… so part of it talks about when God spoke to Moses through the burning bush He stated that Moses should take off his sandals because the place where he is standing is Holy ground… then the thought comes in… did the place suddenly become Holy or is it that Moses was just made to understand that it is Holy…  I won’t go into the whole video so that you can see it fresh… (I may go more into it later, because the thoughts are swimming around in my mind)… but it goes pretty much on target to where my mind has been lately… that we are on Holy ground… we are created to glorify God in everything we do… we need to continue on the road of sanctification…  in full obedience… and I do thank God for His grace… because it’s a long and winding road… and I continue to think I am going down the right road when I suddenly realize that I am going in the wrong direction…  

“So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord” ~Romans 7:21-25 

I am reading “Messy Spirituality” by Mike Yaconelli… I LOVE the second part of the title “God’s Annoying Love for Imperfect People”… not that God’s love is annoying at all, but it is faithful and unstoppable…  There are a couple quotes that made me rethink why I may be sabotaging myself… 

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.  We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?  You are a child of God.  Your playing small doesn’t serve the world.  There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.”  ~Nelson Mandela

“No punishment anyone might inflict on them could possibly be worse than the punishment they inflict on themselves by conspiring in their own diminishment.” ~Parker Palmer

Comments»

1. LeAnne - December 29, 2006

Hey ya… i will be praying for you…

I’m glad you started blogging… I knew it would be good stuff… it’s fun and good to get to know you better and to be able to pray for you more specifically… love ya


Leave a Reply

